top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

Uncommon Sense and Covid Vaccines

I have two cardiac conditions as well as MS. I live in long-term care, which I think also puts me at greater risk. All the other residents here, at least those 70 years and up, have already been vaccinated, but I won’t turn 60 until July. All my friends of similar ages and even younger with fewer conditions have received their vaccinations. My friends of the same age who live in other provinces have been jabbed. I am the “sickest” person I know without a Covid shot, and yet I keep falling between the cracks.


The provincial government continues to use age categories as the primary reason for vaccinating people. The health department needs to let go of the age criteria and start considering people as individuals. In other words, use some common sense. Because I only have two underlying medical conditions, my age would have been the third reason.


I could be eligible for the AstraZeneca vaccine, but that’s the one that has a tendency to cause blood clots. Because I’m in a wheelchair, from the knees down my legs are stationary most of the day and circulation is not great. The last thing I need is a bull’s-eye on my back for yet another medical issue.


I have used up all my patience. I hate the idea of writing another post that is essentially a rant, a letter to the editor. But here I go again, shining a light on yet another injustice.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page