top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

Taking it Easy

Updated: Jun 5, 2020

I’m taking the path of least resistance today. It all started yesterday morning around 8 AM. Come to think of it, it actually started the night before in the wee-wee hours.


Photo Credit: SleepZoo.


I’ve been fighting a UTI the last couple of days, and I’m trying to do it without antibiotics this time. I drank a lot of water before I went to bed to “flush” it out of my system, so to speak. I didn’t sleep well because I was up peeing all night. Truth be told, I peed the bed twice, but hey, I have a UTI. ANYWAYS, I woke up on Wednesday morning feeling exhausted. Thursday mornings are the day I go out and about, getting groceries, general shopping. (I need to escape from this place regularly for the sake of my mental health.) Lucie, my shopping Sherpa, spends three hours helping me spend money, essentially. I’d already made complicated arrangements for us to be dropped off at Walmart at 10 AM, and picked up again at 1130. All this while coping with a UTI. So, when I woke up on Wednesday feeling like crap, I knew it’d be easier if I didn’t go out Thursday. Another case of the spirit was willing but the body was weak.


With that decision made I cancelled the arrangements to go to Walmart. Now the question was, do I cancel Lucie or not? Can I keep her busy for the three hours? She does a lot more than just shopping. I always have a long list of things for her to do: putting clothes away, filing and organizing paperwork, seasonal stuff like wrapping Christmas presents …. I took a minute to think about my current list of Lucie jobs and realized I could mostly live without her services the next day. I called the home health care agency.


Now it’s Thursday morning. I’m not going out and don’t have the stress of having to be somewhere at the right time. I’m free to pee whenever. I can drink as much tea and cranberry juice as I want. And because I’m on my own, I’m blogging instead of telling Lucie what to do. I could’ve forced the issue and stuck to Plan A, but I’m really glad I went in a different direction.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page