top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

Picking Out New Frames

Updated: Jun 5, 2020

I’ve been through a lot in the last three years. Something in me has shifted fundamentally. Time to get new glasses, ones that are bolder and edgier to reflect the changes in my personality.


What I’d forgotten about was I needed to look at my face wearing different frames many, many times. Even bending forward and squinting at a mirror is no help. Modern technology to the rescue. Now they take a picture of you wearing prospective new frames and show the pics on an iPad, so you can examine them with your glasses on.


I’m horrified by the sight of me! When did my face get so round and fat? And my neck too. It used to be narrower than my face. Now it’s just one continuous line from my fat cheeks all the way down to my shoulders. I have sagging jowls. I gained 25 pounds after I moved here. The last time I weighed this much I was nine months pregnant.


Now, my food baby is in its fourth trimester. My dear friend/stylist Louisa, recruited to help Lucie and me make a decision, was very kind and said I look healthy now, that I was too thin before. The cumulative effects of weight gain plus gravity are almost too much to bear.


I try on many different frames. They can fit four pics per screen. That means I must scrutinize my face at least 12 times, probably closer to 16 by the time I whittle it down to two pairs. The shock of my face wears off eventually. The last two are both edgy in different ways and they both look good on me. Comparing apples to oranges isn’t helpful, but someone asks which pair is more comfortable.


Genius! Suddenly the decision is as clear as the nose on my face. (And I don’t mind my nose.) The new ones are bold and fun – just like me – and are even my favourite colour. They reflect how I feel on the inside.


Postscript – March 22

They called to say my glasses were ready ready to be picked up on March 18. Unfortunately, before I could get there, COVID 19 closed everything down. Absolutely no idea when I’ll be able to get there to have them adjusted to fit my face.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page