top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

It's Good to be Me

Sometimes I blog about bad stuff. I’m a pretty happy camper at the moment so I’m writing about that instead.


I had a visit this afternoon from my wonderful son, who surprised me with fresh strawberries. He’s very thoughtful. He’s pretty much my favourite person in the universe. I won’t go into details here. He makes time for me and that means the world.


I managed to get outside twice today: this morning before lunch and again this afternoon just before supper. The irises are blooming. Did I mention they’re my favourite flower? The weather today is absolutely perfect. It’s 25°C, sunny with a bit of a breeze, and no humidity. Even though it’s hot outside its still comfortably cool in my room and I haven’t been forced to use my AC unit. Mother Nature is cooling my room with a lovely breeze wafting through my window.


I’m lucky enough to have a friend who comes and cuts my hair in my room. Her magic scissors snipped and sliced their way through my overgrown mop this morning. I had it coloured a couple of weeks ago – having grey hair was getting old, so to speak – so I’m rocking my new look today.


I have fun in my future:


My cell phone arrived today. No big deal for everyone else but it’s my first. I’ve been making do with a landline. My hands are just too clumsy for that. With the help of the gang at the Stan Cassidy Centre for Rehabilitation – they’ve been making my life better since the year 2000 – I’ll be able to do everything on the phone voice-activated. I even have a gadget to attach it to my chair.


Last week I picked out new frames for my glasses. They look nothing like my current ones. It’s going to be a loooong, agonizing two weeks until they arrive. In the meantime, I have a funny pic of the gizmo I had to wear for some computer-generated measurements.


I’m about to get some voice-activated improvements to my TV, along with a new smart TV, so I’ll be able to access Netflix, Crave and all kinds of wonderful things.


One of my fuzzy slipper friends is coming to visit in July. ’Nuff said.


Oh – I almost forgot. I just devoured a delicious, non-dairy, frozen, lemon thingy on a stick for dessert. YUM.


Things are going so good for me right now I should probably buy a lottery ticket.


I’m a big believer in gratitude. All this proves that even an unfair life can be good.


That’s how I roll.


126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page