top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

I Have One Nerve Left and You're Getting on It!

Updated: Jun 5, 2020

It’s been a pissy, irritating kind of day.


I’m not the kind of person who “suffers fools gladly.” That means I don’t have a lot of patience or tolerance for people who are annoying or stupid. Someone here brings that out in me. It’s her nervous laughter after her own jokes, which are never funny, that gets to me. I’ve seen too much of her today. My tolerance is down to zero after two encounters, but there is one more after that, late in the afternoon, that almost does me in. I stay strong and say nothing. I guess this time I do suffer a fool, but not gladly.


Now I am trying to write and my flow has been interrupted by the chatter in the hallway outside my apartment as they wait for the elevator. I just heard the door open and close and assumed that the chatterers would have left on the elevator. Wrong. The elevator must have been full already because they are still there, chatting up a storm. After five minutes they just left. THANK GOD.


Wow I’m bitchy today! Too much flying by the seat of our collective pants because of COVID 19. We’re all just making it up as we go along. Unprecedented use of the word unprecedented.


And then, eating supper alone in my room because of COVID 19, I hear a robin chuckle. My irritation balloon deflates completely. Spring has arrived in spite of a virus.


65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page