top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

I Can Breathe Again

This morning I had a hot, soapy shower. I just returned from a roll halfway around the backyard. It’s good to be me.


Obviously, I’m no longer in isolation, the outbreak has ended, and lockdown is no more. For now. Life in LTC. I suspect there will be at least one more round of the former before spring comes. After all, we still have to get through March and April.


I’m a little disappointed I only made it halfway. It’s 15°C today and I decided against doing battle with the slushy ribbon of ice that used to be the sidewalk. That’s when my front wheels get turned sideways and I go nowhere. I decided not to push my luck any further. That’s a big deal for me because I’m a chronic luck-pusher. I almost got stuck anyways when I foolishly decided to turn around rather than just back straight out. I’ll know better next time. Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure I already made this observation in an earlier post.


During the outbreak, the atmosphere was oppressive. There was so little information forthcoming from anyone. Even the workers didn’t have answers. It’s probably for reasons of privacy. I found out I was in isolation when an LPN came into my room wearing PPE and waving a swab at me. “You’ve been exposed to Covid 19 dear and I have to take a swab.” The first time it happened I was scared. Then, I started to fit pieces of information together. In most cases, a staff member was a “close contact” and they stayed home for 10 days just in case. The second time was scarier because I knew three neighbours on my floor had all tested positive. Fortunately, I never got sick or tested positive.



58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page