top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

COVID Rambling

What I really need is some retail therapy, a haircut and a dye job. I bought something online a couple weeks ago, which helped, but it hasn’t arrived yet, and about once a week or so I get an email saying the shipment is delayed. Fingers crossed that it actually arrives. My hair is another matter. It grows so quickly. Normally I get my hair cut every five weeks, and coloured every other month. 14 weeks later and two missed colour treatments, my perky pixie now looks like a witch aging badly. In a very weird way, I’m actually kind of enjoying watching my hair get worse and worse. It’s like a badge of honour because it’s happening to everyone all around the world. Should make for an interesting before and after pic.


Another COVID symptom. I can’t seem to focus on anything long enough to accomplish something. One minute I’m listening to a self-help book by Brene Brown, and then a thought intrudes that I should blog about my son serenading me by fiddle for Mother’s Day. When I start to blog about it my mind wanders again, thinking about an email that has just arrived from a close friend. I want to respond in a meaningful way, before too much time passes and I lose my train of thought.


What’s going on? Yes, I’m blogging but I don’t seem to have the self-discipline to focus on a topic. I’m not taking advantage of all the extra free time. I hate to squander this precious resource. I have a memoir I could be working on, but I seem to be noodling on my computer aimlessly. I know what to do! My new obsession, watching parrot training videos on YouTube.

40 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page