top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

Close Encounters

Long story short: On Sunday, March 27 I had viral laryngitis (completely unrelated to earlier bout) and a head cold. Six days later I tested positive for Covid 19, but I’ve been asymptomatic and feeling great. I never once had the classic symptoms of a fever or lost my senses of taste and smell.


The details:


It was complicated, as many things are with me. Along with the laryngitis I had a lot of head and chest congestion that made me cough. Every time I coughed up phlegm (sorry to be gross) my larynx spasmed, and shut down my airway so I couldn’t breathe through my mouth. Because my sinuses were stuffed up, I couldn’t breathe through my nose either to relax the spasm. I could cope with it when I was sitting in my chair, but even sitting up in bed I struggled to breathe whenever I coughed something up. During the worst episode, I fought down my rising panic for a good 15 to 20 minutes as I couldn’t breathe, until I finally called the night charge nurse for help. Now I know what an asthma attack feels like. I was terrified.


By this time I could breathe well enough to talk to the nurse. I wanted desperately to talk to a doctor so I could explain about my larynx spasming, and that I was Covid negative, and that my case was complicated by MS. At the same time, though, I dreaded going to the Covid-infected hospital in case they put me on a ventilator because my airway was obstructed. In the end, the nurse called 911 and I went to the hospital because my fear of it happening again at home, was greater than my fear of what might happen there. So vulnerable. Stuck between a rock and a hard place again.


After four hours waiting in a hallway, I finally got in to see a doctor so I could explain my complicated history. We decided some oral steroids would be the best course of treatment since the laryngitis was most likely viral. The steroids would calm down my vocal cords and overactive larynx. I spent the next five nights sleeping in my wheelchair tilted way back with the foot rests elevated. It opened up my chest so I could cough less and breathe better. Not the greatest for sleeping, however. Several days later an extramural respiratory therapist gave me a little gadget to breathe into – called an Aerobika oscillating positive expiratory pressure therapy system – that worked wonders to break up the mucous in my lungs.


In fact, the day I got the results of the positive Covid test was the first day I felt better after my laryngitis and head cold. Go figure.


Timeline


Friday, March 25 – Do I have a sore throat? Ignored it, unlike me.


Saturday, March 26 – Head cold and laryngitis. Put in isolation. PSWs must wear gowns. No more showers. Covid test negative.


Sunday, March 27, 3 AM – Difficulty clearing airway. High anxiety. Called 911/paramedics, went to ER, diagnosed with viral laryngitis, given steroids. Returned home to find OUTBREAK DECLARED. Most of my floor in isolation. Learned later 22 staff members absent. Others fill in so residents still receive care. Meals arrive very late. Negative headlines come true at home. Extremely vulnerable. Worry balloon size of Hindenburg dirigible airship (the one that exploded).


Monday, March 28 – Taking decongestants around the clock. Anxious. Decided to sleep in my wheelchair. Also worried about developing painful pressure sores – another major health issue. Minimal coughing. Not much sleep but at least I could breathe. No Covid test. Maybe would be positive?


Tuesday March 29 to Thursday, March 31 – Same crap, different days. No pressure sores, bullet dodged. Started using Aerobika daytime to break up chest mucous. Relief. Worry balloon starts to deflate.


Friday, April 1 – Difficult day emotionally. Worn out from worry, advocating for myself, lack of sleep. Still in isolation. Supper terrible – dried out piece of cod, yucky peas – didn’t improve my mood.


Saturday, April 2 – Slept well. Woke up feeling much better. Ironically, Covid test positive. Ten more days of isolation. Worry balloon re-inflates.


Sunday, April 3 to Friday, April 8 – Sleeping in bed again. Fully recovered from laryngitis, head and chest colds. No Covid symptoms. Worry balloon flat.


Saturday, April 9 – Day 7 after Covid test, still no shower. Finally allowed outside. Am rolling biohazard so must wear mask, wash hands first and avoid others. Inhaled fresh air heavily. Crocuses blooming. No more balloon.


Sunday, April 10 – Outside again. No risky behaviour but got stuck anyways, needed to be rescued. Good laugh at my expense. We needed it. Don’t mind being comic relief.


Tuesday, April 12 – Last one on my floor out of isolation (I caught it after everyone else). HOORAY! Shower at 1030.



Now that I’ve had time to think about the last two weeks, I have many reflections. I will save them for the next post.


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page