top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy Manson

A Brush With Bacteria

I know I said I wasn’t going to blog over the summer. Famous last words. I was wrong. I lasted 16 days, although I did leave myself an “out” when I said something would probably come along to compel me to blog. This felt noteworthy.


I just returned from an appointment at the hospital to have that cutaneous horn removed that I blogged about a while ago. Probably the easiest one I’ve ever had. No lineups, no waiting and, as it turned out, no procedure either. For once I felt protected from the bacteria potluck of a normal hospital visit, as I wore a mask and so did everyone else. We also steered clear of each other. I only had to touch two elevator buttons myself. The doctor and I were both early. I arrived at 10:10 AM and was out of there by 10:30 for something that was supposed to happen at 10:40. Naturally I practised good hand hygiene when I got back. I washed my hands thoroughly with soap and hot water. Twice.


My visit is significant for what doesn’t happen. I know immediately where I’m going because the screener at the front door tells me. I don’t park myself in Admitting for 10 minutes or so, next to about 50 other people, while I wait for my number to appear on the magic screen – Bingo! – to register with a clerk. Instead, I go directly to 4 West, where I wait alone in a waiting room for about one minute. The woman shows me to a “procedure room.” The doctor and I chat for five minutes and he decides to call me in a couple of months, rather than remove something from my cheek we both struggle to find.


The doctor wears scrubs, gloves and a mask for our consult. I wonder why he’s not in isolation gear, but I suppose it’s not necessary at this point because we’ve both been screened.


Something else missing from this visit: my own stress and anxiety. Three or four years ago this would have freaked me out royally. I would have worried about exposing myself to who knows what, and returned stressed out and exhausted. This time, I didn’t even think about it. It felt like something I had to do and my head was in the right place going into it. I would just roll with whatever happened. And I did. And nothing happened.


With the advantage of hindsight, I realize now I could have refused the appointment entirely. And maybe I should have. But I figured right now, with Covid cases being so low, this was probably the safest, cleanest time ever to visit the hospital.


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page